June 1944

Three Marines Awarded Medals of Honor

Volume 28, Issue 6

Stephen Stavers

Glyn Jones

THE highest award of the United States Government, the Congressional Medal of Honor, has been awarded posthumously to three Marines by President Roosevelt. Honored for bravery at Tarawa were Staff Sergeant William J. Bordelon, USMC, and First Lieutenant William D. Hawkins, USMCR. The third man honored was Private First Class Henry Gurke, USMC, for bravery in the Solomon Islands Area.

The citations tell their stories:

To First Lieutenant Hawkins:

If you are an MCA&F Member

Click here to login and view all Leatherneck and Marine Corps Gazette articles

OR Join the MCA&F to continue reading

By becoming a member of the Marine Corps Association & Foundation, you gain access to the entire library of articles from Leatherneck Magazine and the Marine Corps Gazette. Click here to sign up online and continue reading this article