Oct. 2012: Special Notices

Ellis Essay Contest Winners Announced

The 2012 LtCol Earl “Pete” Ellis Essay Contest resulted in the submission of over 50 essays competing for a first place prize of $5,000. The winner of this year’s contest was Col David C. Fuquea, USMC(Ret), for his essay, “An Amphibious Manifesto for the 21st Century.” The colonel will receive $5,000 and a plaque. Maj John Jordan and MSgt Russell Miller received honorable mention plaques for their essays, “Every Marine a Rifleman, Every Ship an Amphibious Ship” and “The Commandant’s Rheostat: Logarithmic Thinking for 2023,” respectively. The essays will be published in forthcoming issues of the Marine Corps Gazette.

Award Eligibility

On 9 August HQMC released MarAdmin 437/12, Awards Update. The MarAdmin announces unit awards that include the Presidential Unit Citation, the Joint Meritorious Unit Award, the Navy Unit Commendation (NUC), the Meritorious Unit Commendation, and the Coast Guard Meritorious Team Commendation. The MarAdmin also includes guidance on the awarding of the Iraq Campaign Medal and the NATO Medal.

On 5 September HQMC released MarAdmin 492/12, I MEF (FWD) Navy Unit Commendation. The MarAdmin announces those units eligible for the NUC for actions in Operation ENDURING FREEDOM from 12 April 2010 to 26 March 2011.