Gen Robert E. Hogaboom Leadership Writing Contest


Deadline: 1 September - 31 January

The Gen. Robert E. Hogaboom Leadership Writing Contest honors the essay that is the most original in its approach to the various aspects of leadership. Authors should not simply reiterate the 11 Principles of Leadership or the 14 Leadership Traits of an NCO addressed in the Guidebook for Marines. Authors must be willing to take an honest, realistic look at what leadership, either positive or negative, means to them and then articulate ways and methods of being an effective leader of Marines.


The contest is named for Gen Robert E. Hogaboom, USMC(Ret), who served the Corps for 34 years. Upon graduating from the Naval Academy in 1925, Gen Hogaboom saw service in Cuba, Nicaragua, and China. Following action in a number of key Pacific battles in World War II, he later served first as assistant division commander, then division commander, 1st Marine Division in Korea 1954–55. Gen Hogaboom retired in 1959 as a lieutenant general while serving as the Chief of Staff, Headquarters, U.S. Marine Corps, and was subsequently advanced to the rank of general.


  • The contest is open to all Marines on active duty and to members of the Marine Corps Reserve.
  • Electronically submitted entries are preferred.
  • Attach the entry as a file and send to
  • A cover page should be included identifying the manuscript as a Hogaboom Leadership Writing Contest entry and include the title of the essay and the author’s name.
  • Repeat title on the first page, but author’s name should not appear anywhere but on the cover page.
  • Manuscripts are acceptable, but please include a disk in Microsoft Word format with the manuscript.
  • Multiple entries are allowed; however, only one entry will receive an award.
  • The Marine Corps Gazette Editorial Panel will evaluate and select the winning essay.
  • All entrants will be notified about the outcome of the their entry.

Send entries to:


$3,000 and an engraved plaque for first place;
$1,500 and an engraved plaque for second place;
$500 for honorable mention.